Cusco and Machu Picchu

Living far from home mostly feels like a huge privilege and wonderful journey, but sometimes it’s hard. I miss being present for various life events; recently, an elderly relative passed away, and a baby cousin was born. And last weekend, I experienced being very sick far from home. Luckily, my sister and uncle were with me, and I got great medical care from the clinic I was at. However, it was my first time being hospitalized, and feeling awful in a foreign country with unknown doctors was a little scary.

File_003(1)

(I’m almost 100% better now!)

The reason I got that sick, though, was because I was on an amazing 4-day hike in the mountains near Machu Picchu. The views were stunning, the company was great, and we had a wonderful guide who taught us about the region and Incan history.

File_002(1)

The view after lunch on the first day.

File_003

Close to the end of day 1 – we hiked up that valley!

The first night, we slept in a beautiful meadow at around 14,000 feet elevation, and on the second day, we got up at dawn to start hiking.

File_004

The view from our campsite, before starting up the pass.

File_005

We passed through a magical grove of trees – I’m certain there were elves somewhere.

File_006

At the top of the 15,800-ft pass, looking over to the other side.

File_007(1)

We passed several lagoons, and got views of glacier-covered peaks.

File_000(1)

It started snowing and sleeting – I was happy to be going down, not up!

File_002

We met a lot of cute sheep, llamas, and alpacas along the hike.

File_004(1)

My uncle the mountaineer.

After finishing the trek, we took a train to Machu Picchu. Although I was feeling terrible by then, I still found the massive Incan ruins humbling and awe-inspiring.

File_006(1)

The mountains themselves were dramatic and graceful

File_000

I hung out with this view and rested, while my sister and uncle climbed Machu Picchu. 

File_007

The slope of the roofs matched the angle of the mountains beyond.

I’ve been back in Cusco for a week now, and I have a few more days to rest and gain strength before heading to Mexico to live and volunteer at a migrant and refugee shelter. Now that I’m feeling better, I can enjoy the many things Cusco has to offer, including parades like the one below!

File_004(2)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cusco and Machu Picchu

  1. Brett says:

    I’m glad you’re better! Was it dehydration, soroche, or something you ate? Amazing pictures. The landscape reminds me of the Sierras, but the SA landscape is much rawer and harsher. The land is visibly much newer than the NA version. Happy travels to Mexico!

    • sepplere says:

      It was strep throat that spread to ears and bronchitis… and dehydration and high altitude didn’t help, I think! And yes, I kept thinking about California, among other mountains. Thanks Brett!

  2. Karen Sanchez-Eppler says:

    So glad that you are well enough to be posting again–and watching parades! If you are feeling up to treating yourself to delicious food one of Benigno and my favorite restaurants in the world is
    Gustitos de Loli (Recoleta Angosta 613) a tiny charming place with a brother and sister team who make really exquisite Peruvian fare–and you can watch Loli cook. Wishing you wonderful healing days in Cusco and good adventures ahead. Love you! Tia Karen

Leave a comment